Skip to main content
Monthly Archives

May 2006

Spring 2006 KEMI Graduates

By News

Congratulations to our Spring of 2006 Kentucky Equine Management Internship (KEMI) graduates!

Rachel Bissonette – Ohio State ATI – Shawnee Farm

Jordan Blair – Mississippi State University – Pin Oak Stud

Emily Breck – University of Connecticut – Dell Ridge Farm

Meredith Cathey – North Carolina State University – Trackside Farm

Rachael Cooper – Shasta College – Cobra Farm

Heather Dull – Auburn University – Ashford Stud

Heather Dunaway – Bluegrass Community and Technical College – Shadwell Farm

Lauren Evans – University of Vermont – Lane’s End/Oak Tree Division

Brittany Gamler – Virginia Tech – WinStar Farm

Trisha Hamblin – Kansas State University – Shadwell Farm

Anika Hansen – Utah State University – Overbrook Farm

Shelsea Johnson – College of Southern Idaho – Milestone Farm

Michael Karcher – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo – Three Chimneys Farm

Natalie Landen – University of Rhode Island – Lane’s End/Oak Tree Division

Kimberly Ryan – Delaware Valley College – Cobra Farm

Abigail Schmidt – Michigan State University – Shawnee Farm

Liz Sharpe – Washington State University – Dell Ridge Farm

Kristen Swiatek – Michigan State University – Trackside Farm

Shannon Touroo – Michigan State University – Pin Oak Stud

Nicole Trout – Iowa State University – Chesapeake Farm

Best of luck to our Spring of 2006 graduates!

Congratulations, Spring 2006 KTFMC award winner, Rachel Bissonette!

By News

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Farm Managers Club (KTFMC) will be awarding one Kentucky Equine Management Internship (KEMI) intern a Management Award each semester.  This award will include a cash prize as well as an opportunity to shadow an industry professional of the intern’s choosing during the week immediately after their internship.  Rachel Bissonette was recently announced as the first KTFMC Management Award winner.  Congratulations, Rachel!

Congratulations, Spring 2006 Michelle Fuerniss Scholarship Winners, Brittany Gamler and Kristen Swiatek!

By News

The Michell Fuerniss Scholarship Fund has been established to benefit commendable KEMI interns each session.  The scholarship fund was created to honor the memory of Michelle Fuerniss, a young Central Kentucky woman who was devoted to the Thoroughbred industry.  This year Brittany Gamler and Kristen Swiatek were selected to receive the award as recognition for their work ethic, community involvement, and their dedication to the care of horses.  Congratulations, Brittany and Kristen!